How do I set up and edit classes?

 

A class refers to a cohort of students that go through a course together.

All student-generated content such as comments, posts and group pages are only visible inside the class where they were generated.

For example, students in Class of 2017 cannot see any of the comments or posts from students in Class of 2018.

Note that the course content, such as the modules and course pages, is shared across classes. This means when you make changes to the course content the changes will be visible to all classes.


Anyone in the world can join this class and view this course (MOOC).

When you create a course on OpenLearning, a default Open class is created for you. You can edit this class or create new classes as you need.

Students pay a fee to enrol in the course.

Only people with an activation code can enrol and view your course.

The course admin or facilitator must enrol students via their email addresses, and only these enrolled students can access the course.

When you close a class, no new students can enrol into that class. Existing students can continue to access and complete the course.


While you can run multiple classes at once, there are some restrictions:

  • You can only have one Open class (MOOC) running at a time 
  • You can't have an Open class and a Paid class running at the same time
  • You can have multiple private classes running at the same time

To create a new class: 

Go to Course Setup > General and scroll down to the Classes section.

Click Create a New Class.

Edit:

  • The Class Name
  • Who can enrol
  • The date when course material is available

Click Save Changes.


Go to Course Setup > General and scroll down to the Classes section.

Click Change Class.

 

Edit:

  • The Class Name
  • Who can enrol
  • The date when course material is available

Click Save Changes.


If you are running a course with several classes, you might need to switch from one class to another to check on your students, post some feedback, etc. Here's how to do that:

  • Directly below the course banner, find your mini profile picture, role and class.
  • Click the triangle next to the current class name
  • Click on the class you want to access via the dropdown menu.

  • Go to Course Setup > General  
  • Scroll down to Classes in Your Course 
  • Click on Teacher Access for the class you would like to access

 

2replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
  • How do I merge two classes together?

    Or, how can I have students from one type of enrolment join the class from another type of enrolment?

    Reply Like
    • Paul Batten Hi Paul! We have replied to your e-mail!

      Reply Like
Like1 Follow
  • 1 Likes
  • 11 days agoLast active
  • 2Replies
  • 497Views
  • 4 Following