10

How do learners create and manage groups?

If your course involves group work you will see a Groups item on the navigation menu. 

  

When you enter the Groups area, you will see a list of existing groups. Above this, will be a button Create New Group.

Enter a Group Name and Group Description. Choose the type of group you want to create and click Create. Please note that the type of group can't be changed later on. 

Learners can also create groups. In that case, the types of groups available will depend on what the course administrator has chosen. In many cases, learners will be creating a Study Group, which is a self-managed group that you can use to discuss topics of interest, share learning tips, or simply get to know your fellow learners. 

 

  

 

When you return to the Groups page your new group will now be on the list. 

 

  

 


After creating your group, you will be redirected to the Group Dashboard. This is where you can start interacting with your group members. 

From the group dashboard, you can add group members and enter your group's description
Please note only the course administrator can upload a group photo or make further changes to your group description.

  

You can create pages inside your group. Use these to add structure, direct group members to specific activities, and break your work down into sections.   

  

The group feed shows recent activity from inside the group. 

As the group's creator, you should start the conversation by sharing something of interest! 


Learners who created a group can delete that group as long as they never left or re-joined after its initial creation.

To delete a group, go to the main Groups page using the left-hand navigation menu.

Find the group you'd like to delete and click on the garbage can icon on the top right of the group.

A pop-up will appear letting you know that, once deleted, you cannot undo this action. If you're still sure you would like to delete your group, select Delete to confirm.


If you already left the group and can no longer delete it, try contacting your course facilitator and asking them to delete it instead.

Related:

Who do I contact first when I have a course-specific query? 

14 replies

null
    • kasmani_binti_ramli
    • 3 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

    tq

    • Ruzilah_Labansin
    • 3 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

    Thank you

    • Norhisham_bin_Osman
    • 3 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

    Good

    • KEE_SABARIAH_KEE_ABDULLA
    • 3 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

    👍

    • Siti_Zaliha
    • 3 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

    Thanks

    • Waluyo_Adi_Siswanto
    • 3 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

    I tried as a student, creating a group (in new openlearning version), but I cannot change group picture, or edit group description. The only thing I can do is adding group members.

      • Waluyo_Adi_Siswanto
      • 3 yrs ago
      • Reported - view

      Waluyo Adi Siswanto 
      There are many reports that students are unable to add group picture, but no replies yet to solve.
      https://help.openlearning.com/t/m2p27t/how-do-i-use-groups-on-openlearning

      • Customer Success
      • Shannen_Bradford
      • 3 yrs ago
      • Reported - view

      Waluyo Adi Siswanto Hi, 
      Thank you for your reply to this article. We are in conversation with you via live chat with regard to this question. Thank you!

    • janawati_binti_hussein
    • 3 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

    Terima kasih

    • ESFAHAN_BINTI_MOHAMED_YU
    • 2 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

    Hi. How do I delete a group I created? After leaving, the group is still there.

      • Customer Success Team
      • Omnaya_Omar
      • 2 yrs ago
      • Reported - view

      ESFAHAN BINTI MOHAMED YUSOFF Hi there! Unfortunately, it's no longer possible to delete the group now that you have left it (since you are no longer the owner of the group). Even if you were to join it again, you would not be able delete it.

      Usually, a group can be deleted by the learner who created it by going to the Group tab on the lefthand navigation menu and then clicking on the trash can icon on the top right of the group. I've included a screenshot of this below for future reference. I hope this will be helpful for next time :)

      • Customer Success Team
      • Omnaya_Omar
      • 2 yrs ago
      • Reported - view

      ESFAHAN BINTI MOHAMED YUSOFF  If you would like, you can leave a comment at the bottom of the Groups page letting your course admin know that your group is no longer in use and that they may delete it if they would like.

    • MUHAMMAD_SYARQAWI_MOHD_R
    • 2 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

    I accidentally input my details instead of the group description below the Group name. How do I undo this?

      • Customer Success & Onboarding Team Leader at OpenLearning
      • Alenka_Prezelj
      • 2 yrs ago
      • Reported - view

      MUHAMMAD SYARQAWI MOHD RABIN Unfortunately, the only way is to delete the group and create a new one. Please note this will cause loss of data created in the group.

Content aside

  • 10 Likes
  • 2 yrs agoLast active
  • 14Replies
  • 1207Views
  • 15 Following