0

What's the difference between closing a class and setting the course offline?


 

Offline

If a course is set to offline, nobody except the course admins can access it. This means previously enrolled learners can no longer access the course.

 

Closed for enrolment

If a class is closed for enrolment (but is online), previously enrolled learners can still access and complete the course, but no new learners can enrol from the landing page.

 

Ended

If a class is ended, learners enrolled in this class will no longer be able to access the course. However, learners in other classes that have not ended can still access the course.

 


Go to Course Setup > General

Toggle from Offline to Online

Go to Course Setup > Classes

Select the class you wish to close.

Go to Administer learners > Timeline for this class and set the relevant class access times.


Who has access to the course when the course status is:
Private Portal

  • Offline
    • Course administrators that have already been added to the portal are able to access the course.
    • Facilitators, assessors, assessment designers, and learners are unable to access the course.
  • Online
    • Course administrators, facilitators, assessors, and assessment designers that are already added to the portal are able to access the course.
    • Learners that are already added to the portal are able to see the course landing page and able to access the course.
    • Course administrators, facilitators, assessors, assessment designers, and learners that haven't been added to the portal are unable to see the course landing page and are unable to access the course.

Public Portal

  • Offline
    • Course administrators are able to access the course.
    • Facilitators, assessors, assessment designers, and learners are unable to access the course.
  • Online
    • Course administrators, facilitators, assessors, assessment designers, and learners are able to access the course.

2 replies

null
    • FullAMark.1
    • 4 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

    May i know how i can open my close class back? can you show me the steps of it? Thanks in advance

      • Customer Success & Onboarding Team Leader at OpenLearning
      • Alenka_Prezelj
      • 4 yrs ago
      • Reported - view

      FullAMark Hi! To re-open a class, go to Course setup > General > Classes in your course > Change class access.

Content aside

  • 2 yrs agoLast active
  • 2Replies
  • 749Views
  • 3 Following