How do I update Portfolio settings within my course?

Portfolios are a fantastic opportunity for students to showcase their learning artefacts and achievements that truly reflect their skills, personal development and capabilities for prospective employers.

As a course creator, they are also a valuable way to empower students to showcase their higher-order thinking skills, problem-solving and creativity beyond the course itself.


If Portfolios have been enabled by your institution, you can customise the Portfolio settings further per class, by following these steps:

Step 1

Go to Course Setup > General

Step 2

Select whether learning artefacts should be added to a students' Portfolio:

  • Immediately after posting

  • Never added automatically

  • Yes, after a certain date

If you set a date to release the Portfolio, students can see their Portfolio items when they visit their Portfolio on their profile page, however it won't be publicly viewable until after the release date.


How can I change the default Portfolio Settings for a specific share widget?

The Portfolio Settings you set up in Course Setup > General are for course-level default settings. You can customise the Portfolio settings for specific share widgets.

 

To change the default Portfolio setting for a specific share widget:

Step 1

Go to the widget you would like to customise the Portfolio setting for and select Share Settings

Step 2

Select or deselect the option: Automatically add posts made from this widget to a student's Portfolio*

Students can decide whether their artefact is shared or hidden from their Portfolio by editing the setting on their artefact once shared in the Gallery:

Students can see and further customise their Portfolio on their profile page:

 

  • Find out more about how students can customise their Portfolio here.
  • Find out more about institution-level Portfolio Settings here.

Portfolios will be enabled in most courses and institutions by late January 2019. Please contact us if you have any questions or concerns regarding Portfolios for your institution.

3replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
  • If the course creator has turned the course offline, will the learning artefacts still show up in students' Portfolios?

    Reply Like
    • Nasha M Hi Nasha! The learning artefacts will still show up in students' Portfolio even if the course is offline.

      Reply Like
    • Kate Trinh Same goes for Closed classes?

      Reply Like
Like6 Follow
  • 6 Likes
  • 8 mths agoLast active
  • 3Replies
  • 485Views
  • 5 Following