How do chat notifications work?
OpenLearning's chat (or direct messaging) feature allows users enrolled in the same cohorts to send private messages to one another.
- Online mode
- Offline mode
If another user sends a message to you while you're in online mode, the pop-up window will appear immediately.
If someone sends you a message while you're in offline mode or simply not logged into OL at the time, OpenLearning sends a system email about the unread chat messages approximately 1-2 days after the message has been left.
If a user sends a chat message to you while your chat is in online mode but you are not on OpenLearning's website, the pop-up window with the chat message will appear for you the next time you log into OpenLearning.